New Trick and a Whopping BIG Sword

I never watched Xena the Warrior Princess much, because when it was on, I lived in the UK and it came on at a bad time for my life.

I did, however, admire the exploits of Saint Olga, who before she converted to Christianity protected her small son, her kingdom and her people from invasion by scalding, burying alive and crushing the envoys sent to intimidate her. Eventually, they realized the Lady’s Not for Turning. Period.

More recently, and at the perfect time, I saw the new Alice in Wonderland. The one where Alice is a grown up and goes back to help boot the evil Red Queen and reinstate the sweeter White Queen. Alice was like Joan of Arc with better hair. She swung an enormous sword and beheaded a dragon with a very bad attitude. My three girls and I were jumping up and down cheering her on.

Equally invigorating – watching Lord of the Rings…Eowyn, taking out the evil dark knight, that no man can kill…but she can because she’s no man!

There are plenty of icons and symbols in history and fiction of the warrior female, yet it is a difficult muse to tap for so many of us. Being a mother brought out my soft side as much or more as it has brought out my Warrior Queen.

But the Enemy hasn’t slowed down one bit, and his attacks are every bit as vicious as they ever were. I find them more painful now, mainly because I’m defending myself and four little people who haven’t learned to fight for themselves.

My first husband wants custody of the big one. And today, in a TV-interrupted debrief from her, I learned that the psychologist asked to evaluate her – and decide where she goes – wanted to know would she like to go live with Father, and spend all her vacations with Mother? She said no, clearly, no (quote). But it put a real wrinkle in my day and I fought tears for an hour. How could anyone be so heartless to even ask such a question? This child is alive becauase I fought off the same father she’s now casually talking about.

I know who could be so heartless. It’s the same evil snake who wants to destroy my family from the inside, and your family too.

I was watching Beth Moore yesterday. She had her sword out – the Word of Truth. And she fought with the skill of an Olympic fencer. Take that, and that, and that. Gospels, Epistles, Psalms, Old Testament prophets – one after the other.

No weapon forged against me shall prevail.

No weapon.

No psychologist with silly new age ideas about “alienation” or a father inhabited by a spirit of contention and hate.

No court in the back woods with no idea how a smart 9 year old thinks, or what is best for her.

Satan is going to keep bringing it on, and it’s exhausting and sometimes I cry.

But…I also believe…Jeremiah 29, For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Be still, and know that I am God.

In the world you will have tribulation, but be of good cheer for I have overcome the world.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.
Romans 8:27-29

The LORD will again delight in you and make you prosperous, just as he delighted in your fathers, 10 if you obey the LORD your God and keep his commands and decrees that are written in this Book of the Law and turn to the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul. (Deuteronomy 30, 9 – 10)

 9This is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance 10(and for this we labor and strive), that we have put our hope in the living God, who is the Savior of all men, and especially of those who believe. (1 Timothy 9)

Take that, and leave my family alone!

Leave a Reply

